Potential Students/Collaborators

If you are interested in working with me, then send me an email at and we can discuss various possibilities. A useful list of potential sources of funding has been compiled on the here.



  • Dr Indrajit Chakraborty – has begun working on the Leidenfrost effect, with a focus on the non-classical dynamics in the vapour film between an evaporating liquid droplet and a solid surface.
  • Dr Mykyta Chubynsky – is studying the solidification of molten metal microdroplets whose dynamics govern the quality of 3D ‘metaljet’ printed products in collaboration with researchers at Nottingham and Birmingham Universities as part of a Programme Grant into Next Generation Additive Manufacturing.
  • Dr Jack Keeler – is looking into the 3D instabilities seen in numerous free surface flows, including dynamic wetting, as part of an US-UK (CBET-EPSRC) grant between Warwick, Oxford and Minnesota.
  • Dr Arshad Kamal – is looking at using fundamental solutions to describe the dynamics of suspensions.

Mentoring Fellowship Winners

  • Dr Shiwani Singh – is studying multiscale viscoelastic phenomena using new kinetic models for polymer dynamics. She was initially funded by an EPSRC Programme Grant, but has now won a Leverhulme Early Career Fellowship to continue this research.


  • Tom De Fraja – is funded by an EPSRC Impact Acceleration Account and is looking into the mathematical modelling of evaporation at the nanoscale, for applications to new thermal management techniques, alongside Bell Labs.
  • Peter Lewin-Jones – is a HetSys CDT student conducting research into the patterns discovered under liquid drops impacting hot surfaces.
  • Jingbang Liu – is a HetSys CDT student studying the fluctuations of contact lines.
  • Yixin Zhang (co-supervisor) – is looking into the breakup of thin liquid nano-films using molecular dynamics and fluctuating hydrodynamics.

Undergraduate (4th year projects)



  • Dr Laura Cooper (2017-2020) – studied pore scale elastic turbulence, with applications to two phase flow in porous media, funded by an EPSRC project between Warwick and Birmingham. Laura left to take up a permanent position in Warwick’s Medical School.
  • Dr Vinay Kumar Gupta (2017-2019) – was funded by a Commonwealth Rutherford Fellowship and had a background in modelling the flow of granular gases and rarefied gas mixtures by exploiting moment methods. Vinay left for a lectureship at IIT Indore.
  • Dr Anirudh Singh Rana (2016-2019) – was a PDRA and then Marie Curie Sklodowska Fellowship in the Institute of Advanced Study who worked on evaporation at the nanoscale. Anirudh left for a lectureship at BITS Pilani (India).
  • Dr Alex Patronis (2015-2016) – was an EPSRC Doctoral Prize winner studying non-equilibrium gas dynamics in impact problems. Left to become a PDRA at University College London
  • Dr Yuan Li (2013-2014) – lead research on the pinch-off project. Left to become a PDRA at the University of Birmingham.


  • Dr Chengxi Zhao (2016-2020 then 2020-2021 as PDRA) – studied the breakup of nano-jets/films, using molecular dynamics and fluctuating hydrodynamics. He then joined the Unversity of Science and Technology of China on a prestigious chinese fellowship.
  • Dr Jesse Pritchard (2016-2021) – conducted experiments and developed computational models for liquid marble formation.
  • Dr Jonathan Simmons (2011-2015) – worked on the bubble formation project (viva passed in June 2015). Joined the Marston Group as a PDRA at Texas Tech.

PhD Mini-Project

  • Mr Jeremy Reizenstein (2014) – put Knudsen effects into drop impact phenomena. Went on to study for a PhD in Complexity Science at Warwick
  • Mr Conor Finn (2014) – developed computational methods for drop dynamics. Left to study for a PhD at the University of Sydney.


  • Mr Salah Kouhen studied the dynamics of fluctuating coalescing nanodrops. Salah left to do a PhD at Oxford.
  • Mr Tom de Fraja looked into the evaporative cooling from nanopores.
  • Mr Vinny Dhillon & Mr Simon Marshall studied grain development in solidifying molten metal. Simon left to do a PhD at Leiden.
  • Mr Michal Moravec & Mr Stepan Marek (2018-2019) – studied the solidification of molten metal droplets. Michal left to do a PhD at the Max Planck Institute in Dresden.
  • Mr Luke Walsh & Ms Beth Kynman (2018-2019) – looked into the breakup of liquid threads. Luke went on to become a deployments engineer.
  • Mr Joe Blake & Mr Michael Negus (2017-2018) – studied the growth of vapour nanobubbles. Both left to take up PhD positions: Joe at Delft and Michael at Oxford.
  • Mr Rory Claydon & Mr Abhay Shrestha (2016-2017) – developed fundamental solutions for R13, work which was published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics. Rory went on to do a PhD at Edinburgh and Abhay left to do Part III at Cambridge, then a PhD at Kings College London.
  • Mr Ed Skevington (2013-2014) – extended the spreading of drops over/into porous media project. Went to study for a PhD at Bristol


  • Mr David Johnson (2013-2014) – studied the oscillation of liquid drops